EINHORN Dawid (1887-1943?), philosopher, teacher, school director. Einhorn graduated in philosophy and completed his studies with a doctorate. He also passed an examination entitling him to research in Greek and Latin, as well as in Polish.

When he came to Częstochowa at the end of 1920, he already had almost ten years of teaching experience. On 1^{st} November 1920, he became Director of the Jewish Gimnazjum, after \rightarrow Majer Bałaban had left that position. In the school, he taught classical languages and introductory philosophy, all these classes were conducted in Polish. During his tenure, he developed the overall education program and the school curriculum so closely matched the government curriculum, that Hebrew subjects were reduced to a minimum. He left the gimnazjum at the end of the 1922/23 school year. His replacement was \rightarrow Filip Axer.

From 1922, he was a board member of the Częstochowa branch of the Committee to Aid Jewish Students "Auxilium Academicum Judaicum". Einhorn later headed the Girls' Gimnazjum of the Tow. Przyjaciół Wiedzy in Radom (at ul. Mariacka 4) and, from circa 1930 to 1939, he was director of the newly-built, modern Szymon Fürstenberg Gimnazjum in Będzin. During his directorship, the school attained a high level of education.

Einhorn treated his interest in philosophy seriously. For example, in May 1923, as a representative of Częstochowa, he took part in the 1st Polish Philosophy Conference. In the history of philosophy section, he delivered a paper entitled Zagadnienie przedmiotu historii filozofii jako swoistej rzeczywistości ["On the Subject of the History of Philosophy as a Specific Reality"].

He perished in the Auschwitz-Birkenau concentration camp.

Spis nauczycieli, pp. 292, 293, 304. - Mizgalski, *Tożsamość polityczna*, pp. 164, 228; ibid., *Życie społeczne częstochowskich Żydów*, p. 242; Pawlina-Meducka, *Kultura Żydów*, p. 58; S. Wirstel, *Jidisze gimnazje* (Jewish gimnazjum), in: *Czenstochower Jidn*, p. 79. – "Ruch Filozoficzny" 1923, Nos. 9/10, p. 131.

Wiesław Paszkowski